Archive for February 5th, 2010

Logistics Modernization in Green

Official Marine Corps Site for LOGMODI’ve written a few times about lessons we could learn from the Marine’s Logistics Modernization initiative, but I’ve never pointed you to a website that I’d bookmarked returned to a few times in the past several months.

They have two separate FAQ pages, one for “Logistics Modernization” and one for “Technology.”  When I saw this, I thought it may be a good idea for me to turn the questions in the “Talking Points” wiki in PMO’s CG Portal Place into the beginning of a FAQ.  For folks on the team who read this, feel free to let me know whether you think that’s a good idea or not.

But this post isn’t about my worklist, it’s a pointer to a great resource to steal ideas from Marines:  Logistics Modernization: Excellence in logistics supporting excellence in warfighting at https://logmod.hqmc.usmc.mil.

Some of the information may seem dated, but it may just be that the program has been goign for several years, and some of the basics just haven’t changed.

The Nov Dec edition of their “Implementation Insider” describes the challenges they’re facing in implementation.  It’s worth a read to start the juices flowing on how we’ll face similar challenges, and how we might use a newsletter like that one as one of many communication vehicles throughout the process.